The Unguided – Brotherhood (Review)

The UnguidedThis is the latest EP from The Unguided, a Swedish melodic metal band.

The band’s 2016 album Lust and Loathing was one of those albums that just got better and better the more I listened to it. On the surface the band didn’t seem to be doing anything too different from

View original post 268 more words


Album of the Week 02-2017: Firewind – Immortals

Kevy Metal

Due to the band members being busy with other projects, Firewind has been a little dormant the last couple of years, but luckily there is a new album. And not just any album, it’s the first metal highlight of 2017. Everything the relatively lackluster ‘Few Against Many’ was missing is here and then some. Maybe the songwriting collaboration with producer Dennis Ward was what Gus G needed or maybe replacing the great former singer Apollo Papathanasio with the downright exceptional Henning Basse is what the band was begging for, but whatever the case, ‘Immortals’ is an exuberant power metal record with some excellent musicianship to boot.

Sometimes a band returns after a while and it just makes sense. ‘Immortals’ is one of those cases. It actually feels like a new chapter in Firewind’s history. Of course the addition of a new singer contributes to that, but there is a freshness…

View original post 378 more words

JUNIUS To Release New Album “Eternal Rituals for the Accretion of Light”


Critically-heralded post-metallers Junius have announced the release of a new full-length album. The new effort will be titled Eternal Rituals for the Accretion of Light and will be released on March 3 via Prosthetic Records. The album, which marks the completion of an album trilogy that began with 2009’s The Martyrdom of a Catastrophist, was recorded, mixed and mastered by Will Benoit (Caspian, et al) and takes inspiration from Elisabeth Haich’s autobiography “Initiation”. Following the departure of former member Mike Repasch-Nieves (guitars), the album was entirely wrote and performed by vocalist/guitarist Joseph E. Martinez, while drums/percussion were completed by Dana Filloon. The album also features guest appearances from Drew Speziale (Circle Takes the Square) and Gian Minardi (General Public).

The album’s artwork and track listing can be found after the break.

View original post 50 more words

Portuguese death metallers The Ominous Circle have premiered a new track from their forthcoming album, Appalling Ascension, at Metal Injection. Titled “As the Worm Descends”, the eight-minute behemoth features a violent struggle between cacophonous bursts of hellacious sound, and lumbering gargantuan crawls. Head over to MI to check out the track now. Appalling Ascension will be released on January […]

via THE OMINOUS CIRCLE Streaming New Track “As the Worm Descends” — SVBTERRANEAN